Poem: The Violence of Waiting

Shadow

I come into my room

Where the scent of piss

Wafts across the chaise lounge

Nailed up cupids

Disdaining to swear

Lavish the carpet

With their broken teeth

Uniting dentists in yearning

Who can put that brush

Between the gravid teeth

Of my ambition?

Music catastrophizing through my veins

And longing to be sung

I’d feed you my skin

If you could make it all happen

But let’s not turn corrupt

 Through The Violence of Waiting

Mouthed words of violence

Seduce me from my golden tomb

And you’ll find me

In The Palace of Nimrud

Lying in a pile of coats

Until the party’s over

Leave a Reply

