Meditation Diary: Lord Shiva’s Mantra

shiva_by_thandav-d244zlz

As I have been trying to perfect the full-lotus seated meditation position, I thought that it would only be proper to invoke Lord Shiva’s assistance, as he is the Lord of Yoga and Tantra. Praying for liberation from the gateways of the senses, I renounced my body, my life, my being, and offered it up as a sacrifice to The Way.

As soon as I called Lord Shiva, I saw an enormous eye flicker inside. So, instead of chanting the Tao Te Ching, which is my normal morning meditation, I decided to solely chant Shiva’s mantra – OM NAMAH SHIVAYA – which is something I have never done in meditation before.

An extremely liberating and tranquil meditation, I had many visions of Lord Shiva, entwined in courtship with a divine consort, the latter’s black hair blazing with fire. I reflected on the necessity for union between The Divine Masculine and The Divine Feminine, and prayed for this sacred balance to be actualized supremely within all beings.

I saw floating spaceports, as well as the cows of light extolled in The Vedas. I saw a tranquil blue planet completely submerged by vast oceans of liquid peace, and Shiva floating serenely over its surface, as well as moments of spiritual eroticism that I shall not narrate here.

When I came out of the trance, I felt lighter, and observed that my face appeared to be much younger and gentler. When I saw my mother, I observed the same youthfulness in her face, and felt blissfully detached, and better able to fully immerse myself in the bliss of reality as a result.

I look forward to deepening my relationship with this mantra, and hope that many of you reading this will also be inspired to chant it as a result.

OM NAMAH SHIVAYAH!

 

 

Leave a Reply

