Poem: Humpty-Dumpty Heart

humpty-dumpty.jpg

Love fragmented

A Humpty-Dumpty heart

How can I make this good?

How can I make this right?

Ruination makes sleep a refuge

And waking a disaster

I have lost the one

I held most precious

My dying candle of wisdom

Barely lights the way

In this apocalyptic tempest

Of surging sorrow

I feel like a sheep

Without a shepherd

An executioner

Without anyone to behead

So

I’ll be behead myself

And be denied access

To grown-up fairground rides

Glittering, twinkling caverns

More omelettes of promise

From my Humpty-Dumpty Heart

 

Leave a Reply

