Dream Diary: Hurricane

hurricane

I am in a trailer park, when a small hurricane seems to erupt out of nowhere. One of my friends, an American, has just entered into his trailer. I hide behind the trailer, thinking that the hurricane will surely not be strong enough to push it over. But I am wrong. The trailer quickly falls on its side, and I have to run into an alleyway to try and shelter myself from its maleficent interference.

However, at this point, it becomes clear that the hurricane is a conscious entity, and is clearly able to read my thoughts and fathom my intentions. It follows me down the alley way, but I somehow am able to escape.

I’m so impressed by the sequence, that I keep on harping about this psychic hurricane for the rest of the dream. But no one pays me much attention, and they basically think I am cuckoo – no change there then!

Later on, I am in America at another trailer park. I make some good friends there – a man and wife. We are saying goodbye, when we are surprised to discover that they actually live in Bristol, or another location quite close to me. We are all excited by this, and make arrangements to meet up with eachother when we get back home.

Things get a bit confusing after that. It’s rather uncertain as to whether we’re driving to the airport, or staying for another night. I am rather confused as to how I got to America to begin with, and what my flight arrangements are for going home.

Another couple has joined us. The five of us stop at a roadside canteen. One of the couples look like two friends of mine. The woman accuses her partner of flirting with all the other girls, and being unfaithful, and gets really quite wrathful. All this is taking place whilst I am helping myself to a rather large pile of food.

Things just get stranger after that. Pretty soon, a semi-calm-hysterical malaise comes over us as all these bizarre packages begin to show up, which we believe to be alien in origin. I find some weird elastic gloves in my room. As I am looking out the window, a large, multi-tiered lorry shows up. The other two couples start clambering on it, to retrieve whatever is in it. They all seem to be in a trance by this point.

The lorry seems to be largely empty, except for a jetski, and a sandstone monolith. Very Space Odyssey: 2001! I do not remember much more after that.

Train station at Bristol. Changing clothes by a bin. Thinking about sleeping in my car.

Interpretation:

A hurricane is a natural force, and a wild, unpredictable, and disastrous one. It is conscious, just as all nature is. Insecurity about life deliberately pursuing me or chasing me. Something inescapable, or over which I have no control. Fear of how my thoughts affect reality in a potentially destructive way. Fear of Karma. The trailer is a refuge, but is easily knocked over. A reminder of the futility of taking refuge in worldly things.

A hurricane is cyclical like samsara. Comprised of concentrated wind and air pressure, it represents wind energy at its extreme. A warning of the need to harmonize my energies and avoid extremes? According to my dream dictionary, a hurricane can also represent extreme passion, and our ability to control it. Again, perhaps a caveat to not allow it to get the better of me. It also signifies trouble/difficulty, sudden and unexpected. Though it is dangerous, I do ultimately manage to escape, so I can acquire confidence from that.

No one believes me when I tell them about it. Mystical or supernatural experiences are difficult to transmit or convey to people who have not experienced them. Being selective about who I tell. Feeling isolated from my spiritual community/sangha.

Abroad. In a foreign country. Not knowing where I am. Uncertain about my placement in life or the direction I am heading in. Exploring the unknown, and relying upon the people I meet along the way to help me. Discovering that foreign companionship is far closer than I thought. Random travel.

Altercation in Canteen. Jealousy and conflict in relationships is a risk at the moment. Temporarily stopping for sustenance and renewal.

Gifts from aliens. Unexpected events or circumstances of unknown origins. Feeling that some unknown force is deliberately inferring with my life? Jetski – a powerful vehicle for travelling through difficult emotions. Gloves – shielding and armouring oneself in vulnerability and danger. Monolith – a mysterious monument to ancient knowledge. Finding the unusual and esoteric right on my doorstep!

Bristol – more dreams of being lost on the way, uncertainty, impoverished, having nothing or no one I can take refuge in.

 

 

Leave a Reply

