Poem: Insecure Lobster

lobster

Security

We have no

Security

You might think you’re a crab

Or thick-shelled lobster

Or some indomitable pachyderm

With sandpaper skin

But that soft-flesh

Can always be pried out

Even when you think you are safe

And free from harm

Harm waits within you

Waiting to save you

Harm is your saviour

Your glorious underminer

The magic carpet

That falls limps beneath you

Just as you’ve begun

To fly

As a suicidal crayfish

I capsize myself

And expose my pink underbelly

To the seagulls overhead

“Eat me alive!”

I scream

I claw

“I want nothing less!”

Perhaps this shell

Must be pecked away

Before I can finally open up

This claustrophobic chest

 

Leave a Reply

