Poem: Wife to all The World

seanymph_thumbnail

I look at the world

And I want half the women in it

To be mine

Oh, how could I ever commit?

Any more than a leaf can commit

To a tree it knows, come autumn,

It must inevitably fall away from

I am not some steadfast pine;

My heart is decidedly deciduous

Always burning the brightest gold

Before it falls away

So don’t ask me to stay

When I must sojourn with multiphasic faeries

I am both masculine hermit

And wife to all the world

So I make no move

But stay enraptured

In this net

Of provocative stalemate

Yet the girl with the tigrous eyes

Lingers on by and by

I divorce myself from selfish love

And give totality a try

 

Leave a Reply

