Poem: Lady In Waiting

joshua-reynolds-sir-mrs-richard-bennett-lloyd-1376262200_org

You should always be on guard

When you see me get out my pen

I am probably about

To write a love song to you

Why go to the expense of kissing you

When a love poem testifying I’ve dreamed as much

Will do just the same?

But still, I’ll seek out your company

And try and find

The sweet spot in the silence

Where our tongues might unite

Exchanging words as time bombs

That explode with untold wishes;

I see young couples clasp one another

And I feel like a foreigner

Yet it’s all so intimately illustrative

Of how I feel all of the time

But I can hear your unuttered secrets

The way your eyes dart to my lips

I am a lady in waiting

And I wait for my lady

As the tea inside my heart

Softly brews its own permission

 

3 thoughts on “Poem: Lady In Waiting

Leave a Reply

