Poem: Solar Voyage

flying_octopi72

How can we help but fall in love

With what kills us

When life that kills us repeatedly

Is what we crave the most?

I am not in the habit

Of chasing after life;

I find that if I sit still long enough

It’s only a matter of time

Before she wraps her legs around me

And refuses to let me go

Like a tourniquet of romance

Fancy a free lap dance?

Pour me a new liver

And let my heart out of its cage

And I’ll do almost anything you ask

Just don’t be gentle with me;

This porcelain was meant to be cracked

You can sweep me up in shards

And then pour me into your lap

Like a self-reviving jellyfish

I’ll just keep on multiplying

Or be as a terrifying embryo

That always wants to party

Even once the lights have gone out

And the guests have all gone home

But I will return someday

To show you my tentacles

And you’ll climb on the back

Of this outrageous cephalopod

And sail away with me

Into the sun

Never to come back

 

Leave a Reply

